Pulitzer Prize Winning Plays

On Friday night, Center Stage Playhouse presented a staged reading of Dinner with Friends, a Pulitzer Prize winning play written by Donald Margulies.  I was the assistant director and I had the pleasure to work with director Lucille P. Loiselle and a terrific cast that included Ruth Chiamulera, Jill Conklin, Ray Eckerle, James Evangelista, and Elliott George Robinson.  It was a great evening with a very supportive audience.

The Pulitzer Prize for Drama is awarded to "a distinguished play by an American playwright, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life."  Any in the long list of plays that have won the prestigious award over the years are worth reading, and if you are lucky, seeing as live performances.

Here is the list of Pultizer winners in Drama, year by year. 

2015-2016: Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda

2014-2015: Between Riverside and Crazy by Stephen Adly Guirgis

2013-2014: The Flick by Annie Baker

2012-2013: Disgraced by Ayad Akhtar

2011-2012: Water By the Spoonful by Quiara Alegria Hudes

2010-2011: Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris

2009-2010: Next to Normal by Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey

2008-2009: Ruined by Lynn Nottage

2007-2008: August: Osage County by Tracy Letts

2006-2007: Rabbit Hole by David Lindsay-Abaire

2006: No Award

2004-2005: Doubt by John Patrick Shanley

2003-2004: I Am My Own Wife by Douglas Wright

2002-2003: Anna in the Tropics by Nilo Cruz

2001-2002: Topdog/Underdog by Suzan-Lori Parks

2000-2001: Proof by David Auburn

1999-2000: Dinner With Friends by Donald Margulies

1998-99: Wit by Margaret Edson

1997-98: How I Learned to Drive by Paula Vogel

1996-97: No award

1995-96: Rent by Jonathan Larson

1994-95: The Young Man From Atlanta by Horton Foote

1993-94: Three Tall Women by Edward Albee

1992-93: Angels in America by Tony Kushner

1991-922: The Kentucky Cycle by Robert Schenkkan

1990-91: Lost in Yonkers by Neil Simon

1989-90: The Piano Lesson by August Wilson

1988-89: The Heidi Chronicles by Wendy Wasserstein

1987-88: Driving Miss Daisy by Alfred Uhry

1986-87: Fences by August Wilson

1985-86: No award

1984-855: Sunday in the Park With George by James Lapine

1983-84: Glengarry Glen Ross by David Mamet

1982-83: Night, Mother by Marsha Norman

1981-82: A Soldier's Play by Charles Fuller

1980-81: Crimes of the Heart by Beth Henley

1979-80: Talley's Folly by Lanford Wilson

1978-79: Buried Child by Sam Shepard

1977-78: The Gin Game by Donald L. Coburn

1976-77: The Shadow Box by Michael Cristofer

1975-76: A Chorus Line by James Kirkwood and Nicholas Dante

1974-75: Seascape by Edward Albee

1973-74: No award

1972-73: That Championship Season by Jason Miller

1971-72: No award

1970-71: The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-In-The-Moon Marigolds by Paul Zindel

1969-70: No Place to be Somebody by Charles Gordone

1968-69: The Great White Hope by Howard Sackler

1966-67: A Delicate Balance by Edward Albee

1965-66: No award

1964-655: The Subject Was Roses by Frank D. Gilroy

1963-64: No award

1962-63: No award

1961-62: How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying by Frank Loesser, Abe Burrowsn, Willie Gilbert, Jack Weinstock

1960-61: All the Way Home by Tad Mosel

1959-60: Fiorello! by Jerome Weidman and George Abbott

1958-59: J.B. by Archibald MacLeish

1957-58: Look Homeward Angel by Ketti Frings

1956-57: Long Day's Journey into Night by Eugene O'Neill

1955-56: Diary of Anne Frank by Albert Hackett and Frances Goodrich

1954-55: Cat on a Hot Tin Roof by Tennessee Williams

1953-54: The Teahouse of the August Moon by John Patrick

1952-53: Picnic by William Inge

1951-52: The Shriker by Joseph Kramm

1950-51: No award

1949-50: South Pacific by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II and Joshua Logan

1948-49: Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller

1947-48: A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams

1945-46: State of the Union by Russell Crouse and Howard Lindsay

1944-45: Harvey by Mary Chase

1943-44: No award

1942-43: The Skin of Our Teeth by Thornton Wilder

1941-42: No award

1940-41: There Shall Be No Night by Robert E. Sherwood

1939-40: The Time of Your Life by William Saroyan (awarded but refused by the playwright)

1938-39: Abe Lincoln in Illinois by Robert E. Sherwood

1937-38: Our Town by Thornton Wilder

1936-37: You Can't Take It With You by Moss Hart and George S. Kaufman

1935-36: Idiot's Delight by Robert E. Sherwood

1934-35: The Old Maid by Zoe Akins

1933-34: Men in White by Sidney Kingsley

1932-33: Both Your Houses by Maxwell Anderson

1931-32: Of Thee I Sing by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin

1930-31: Alison's House by Susan Glaspell

1929-30: The Green Pastures by Marc Connelly

1928-29: Street Scene by Elmer L. Rice

1927-28: Strange Interlude by Eugene O'Neill

1926-27: In Abraham's Bosom by Paul E. Green

1925-26: Craig's Wife by George Kelly

1924-25: They Knew What They Wanted by Sidney Howard

1923-24: Hell-Bent Fer Heaven by Hatcher Hughes

1922-23: Icebound by Owen Davis

1921-22: Anna Christie by Eugene O'Neill

1920-21: Miss Lulu Bett by Zona Gale

1919-20: Beyond the Horizon by Eugene O'Neill

1917-18: Why Marry by Jesse Lynch Williams